Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Gastronomic Dish - Au Vieux Moulin
Home - Au Vieux Moulin
Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Home - Au Vieux Moulin

Au Vieux Moulin · Restaurant in Lauterbourg, Alsace

An authentic culinary experience

The old paddlewheel mill in Lauterbourg has stood the test of time. Having been renovated in its entirety, what was a mill in the 16th century, a rapeseed oil and wheat flour mill and a chair factory, before it fell into disrepair, is now a cosy restaurant which welcomes local French and German diners, given its proximity to the border. In this stunning setting, shaped by the history of Lauterbourg, which was a military town under Napoleon, and amidst the lush landscapes of Alsace, the Laghi family welcomes guests and is thrilled to serve them authentic and distinctive French cuisine. 

Located on the border with Germany (Karlsruhe is just 24 km away), Au Vieux Moulin is the ultimate destination for family lunches, dinners with friends, business lunches, farewell dinners, birthdays and other celebrations (rooms can be privatised on request). No matter what the occasion, we prepare traditional cuisine which is served by an attentive and efficient team of staff who are welcoming and multilingual (French, German, English). 

Our secret

Non-stop service from 12 noon until 9 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays to suit your schedule.

See our
set and à la carte menus

Plats au vieux moulin
À la carte menu
Our suggestions
Wine list
Wine list
Wine list
image
Menu
Set menus
Whiskey
À la carte menu
Digestive menu
image
À la carte menu
À la carte menu
Previous Previous Next Next Next

Our values

Using quality ingredients: without them, there can be no quality cuisine. We choose to use local products and our perfectionist chef and owner of the restaurant, Éric Laghi, works to showcase them in recipes by some of France’s most iconic chefs, including Auguste Escoffier, an incredible source of inspiration.

Throughout the year

The restaurant Au Vieux Moulin reflects the changing seasons over the course of the year with a wonderfully varied menu which changes twice a year, featuring signature dishes and special monthly additions. When warmer weather arrives and throughoutthe summer, you’ll love eating in the relaxing surroundings of our flower-filled terrace. In this beautifully bucolic setting, you’re sure to enjoy the seasonal cuisine of chef Éric Laghi, who creates everything from light to hearty dishes which are always incredibly fresh. And when the chilly Alsatian winter sets in, you can savour your meal as you sit by the stunning tiled wood-burning stove, which is used as soon as the temperature drops. In the dining room, which pays tribute to regional craftsmanship with Kelsch fabrics, historical murals by Claude Krumeich and carved wooden furniture, the atmosphere is welcoming and cosy. Everyone will feel at home here.

Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Gastronomic Dish - Au Vieux Moulin
Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Friendly universe - Au Vieux Moulin

A family story

Au Vieux Moulin’s story began with Marie-Paule Iffrig (Séverine’s mum): in the converted cellar of the family home, this talented cook enthusiastically prepared flammekueche, baked in a refractory stone oven, made specially by her husband François, a mosaic tiler. While this legendary tart is still served on Sundays, Séverine and her husband, the chef Éric Laghi, have worked to ensure that the restaurant’s cuisine boasts incredible quality, befitting of the great Escoffier. Together with their team, they focus on well-being, comfort and safety.

The third generation of children will ensure the restaurant’s future: Ludovic and Hélène share the same love of the region, the same passion for real cooking and the same desire to provide the restaurant’s diners with a truly pleasurable experience.

Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Eric and Severine Laghi - Au Vieux Moulin

Services and Facilities

Traditional French restaurant
Terrace (100 seats)
Privatised lounge on request (15 to 20 people)
Disabled Access
Car Park
Takeaway

Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Plat Gastronomique - Au Vieux Moulin
Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Salle à manger - Au Vieux Moulin
Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Accueil - Au Vieux Moulin

Au Vieux Moulin · Restaurant Lauterbourg, Alsace

Une authentique expérience culinaire

L’ancien moulin à aubes de Lauterbourg a traversé les siècles et a survécu aux affres du temps. Entièrement restauré, ce qui fut une meunerie au XVIème siècle, moulin à huile de colza et à farine de blé puis une manufacture de chaises avant d’être oublié, est aujourd’hui un restaurant chaleureux qui accueille les hôtes locaux français et allemands avec la frontière toute proche. Dans ce décor marqué de l’histoire de Lauterbourg, cité militaire sous Napoléon, au milieu des paysages verdoyants de l’Alsace, la famille Laghi vous reçoit avec bonheur pour vous faire partager une cuisine française authentique et marquée. 

Situé à la frontière avec l’Allemagne (Karlsruhe à 24 km), Au vieux Moulin est le lieu des déjeuners en famille, des dîners entre amis, des repas d’affaires, cérémonies d’Au revoir, des anniversaires et autres événements festifs (privatisation possible sur demande) … Pour toutes ces occasions, nous vous offrons une cuisine de tradition servie par une équipe aussi prévenante qu’efficace, chaleureuse, polyglotte (français, allemand, anglais). 

Notre secret

Des services en continu de 12 h 00 à 21 h 00 le samedi et dimanche pour vous accueillir selon vos envies et de votre rythme.

découvrez nos
cartes et menus

Plats au vieux moulin
Carte
Nos Suggestions
Carte des vins
Carte des vins
Carte des vins
image
Menu
Menus
Whiskey
Carte
Digestifs
image
Carte
Carte
Précédent Précédent Suivant Suivant Suivant

Nos valeurs

L’utilisation de produits nobles car sans eux, il n’y a pas de cuisine de qualité. Nous privilégions les produits locaux et notre Chef et Maître de maison, Chef saucier Éric Laghi, en grand perfectionniste s’affaire à les magnifier et à restituer intactes les recettes de nos chefs les plus emblématiques tels Auguste Escoffier, véritable modèle.

Toute l’année

Le restaurant Au Vieux Moulin vit au fil de l’année et des saisons, avec une belle carte variée biannuelle de plats signatures et des suggestions du mois. Dès les beaux jours et durant toutl’été, vous profitez de la douceur sur la belle terrasse fleurie. Dans cet environnement très champêtre, vous savourez, à travers des plats tantôt légers, tantôt copieux et toujours frais, la cuisine de saison du Chef Éric Laghi. Et lorsque la froidure de l’hiver alsacien sévit, vous avez plaisir à dîner dans à proximité du magnifique poêle à bois en faïence alimenté au bois et utilisé dès les premiers froids. Dans la salle, qui met l’honneur le savoir-faire artisanal régional à travers tissus estampillés Kelch, les fresques historiques de Claude Krumeich et le mobilier en bois sculpté, l’atmosphère est conviviale et cosy. On se sent chez soi.

Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Plat Gastronomique - Au Vieux Moulin
Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Univers convivial -Au Vieux Moulin

Une histoire de famille

Tout a commencé Au Vieux Moulin avec Marie-Paule Iffrig (la maman de Séverine) qui, dans la cave aménagée de la maison familiale, cuisinait avec enthousiasme et talent des Flammekueche, dont l’époux François, carreleur mosaïste, fabriqua spécialement un four en pierre réfractaire. Si la célèbre tarte flambée est encore servie le dimanche, Séverine et son mari le Chef Éric Laghi ont fait évoluer la cuisine du restaurant vers toujours plus d’exigence et de qualité, s’inscrivant dans la tradition du grand Escoffier. Avec leur équipe, ils mettent en avant le bien-être, le confort de travail et la sécurité.

Pour la suite, la relève est assurée avec la troisième génération, les enfants, Ludovic, Hélène en partageant le même amour de la région, leur passion de la vraie cuisine et l’envie d’offrir un moment de bonheur aux hôtes du restaurant.

Restaurant Lauterbourg, Bas-Rhin - Eric et Severine Laghi - Au Vieux Moulin

Services et Prestations

Restaurant de cuisine de tradition française
Terrasse (100 couverts)
Salon privatisable sur demande (15 à 20 personnes)
Accès aux personnes à mobilité réduite
Parking
Vente à emporter